FOR LAWYERS

Local Law Lookup: New Jersey DWI Law

By
James Parker
/
February 16, 2022

Federal laws are by necessity, broad, and in many states, more specific laws are supplemented to provide the specificity and breadth that each state is looking for. One of the many diverse areas where laws diverge is how states choose to deal with drivers under the influence of drugs or alcohol.

Today, Attorney at Law has turned our focus to New Jersey, who recently overhauled their penalty system, to give a broad overview of their laws for driving while intoxicated (DWI). While not a comprehensive analysis, this article seeks to provide a broad overview of some notable parts of the DWI laws in New Jersey.

One of the first things to note is that New Jersey’s penalties for first-time offenders are split into categories by blood alcohol content (BAC). For drivers with a BAC between 0.08 and 0.10 offenders face:

  • Forfeiture of the driver’s license pending ignition interlock device installation for a minimum of 90 days
  •  A fine ranging from $250-$400
  • Imprisonment not exceeding 30 days
  • At least 12 hours served at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

If the first-time offender’s BAC is between 0.10 and 0.15, the fine amount increases to $300-$500 and the ignition interlock device period becomes 7 months - 1 year of mandatory use. If the defendant has a BAC exceeding 0.15, the fines remain the same but the ignition interlock installation period extends to 15 months and the license is also suspended for 4-6 months.

New Jersey’s DWI law also covers driving under the influence of drugs. Penalties for driving under the influence of drugs carry the same penalties as driving with a BAC of 0.10 - 0.15.

If a defendant is found guilty, these penalties can uproot their life. That’s why if you have been charged with DWI while in New Jersey, you should contact an attorney experienced in DWI cases.

Plea bargaining is illegal. Prosecutors are not required to bargain and can simply argue for the maximum sentence straight out of the gate.

Featured DUI Law Lawyers

Lorenzo & Lorenzo

Google rating
4.4
35 years in practice
Auto Accidents, Criminal Defense, DUI Law, Medical Malpractice, Nursing Home Abuse & Neglect
View Profile

The Capaz Law Firm, P.A.

Google rating
5
19 years in practice
Auto Accidents, DUI Law, Medical Malpractice, Personal Injury, Premises Liability
View Profile

Garrett Law

Google rating
5
17 years in practice
Bankruptcy, Criminal Defense, Divorce & Family Law, DUI Law, Personal Injury
View Profile

Orange County Personal Injury Attorney

Google rating
5
22 years in practice
Auto Accidents, Personal Injury, Wrongful Death
View Profile

Ibrahim Law Firm

Google rating
4.8
11 years in practice
Auto Accidents, Bankruptcy, Personal Injury
View Profile

JSM Injury Firm APC

Google rating
5
4 years in practice
Auto Accidents, Personal Injury, Premises Liability, Wrongful Death
View Profile

Related Posts

Holiday DUI Task Force Launches in Arizona
James ParkerFebruary 16, 2022
Attorney At Law is changing how clients connect with lawyers. By providing an innovative platform to lawyers who want to expand their practice’s reach, AAL is bringing law practices into the future.
6142 Innovation Way
Carlsbad, California 92009
Some of the content of this website may be considered attorney advertising under the rules of certain jurisdictions. The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute an attorney-client relationship.
crossmenuchevron-upchevron-down linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram